Skip to content ↓



SUBJECT overview

We follow the AQA syllabus in Physics. The course is split in three units at both AS and A2 stages.

Learners will take their terminal examination in June. They will study the following units at AS:

•Unit 1: Particles, Quantum Phenomena and Electricity

•Unit 2: Mechanics, Materials and Waves

•Unit 3: Investigative and Practical Skills. (20% of total AS marks, 10% of total A Level marks)


The learners will study the following units during the A2 units taking their terminal examinations in June:

•Unit 4: Fields and Further Mechanics

•Unit 5: This unit comprises two sections

‚ó¶Section A: Nuclear and Thermal Physics

 ‚ó¶Section B: Option Units

•Unit 6: Investigative and Practical Skills. (10% of the total A Level marks)

knowledge Organiser

A knowledge organiser is an important document that lists the important facts that learners should know by the end of a unit of work. It is important that learners can recall these facts easily, so that when they are answering challenging questions in their assessments and GCSE and A-Level exams, they are not wasting precious time in exams focusing on remembering simple facts, but making complex arguments, and calculations.

We encourage all pupils to use them by doing the following:

  • Quiz themselves at home, using the read, write, cover, check method.
  • Practise spelling key vocabulary
  • Further researching people, events and processes most relevant to the unit.